RED LICK METHODIST CHURCH
ACCORDING TO ORAL TRADITION, THE RED LICK METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, SOUTH, WAS FOUNDED IN 1885. CHURCH SERVICES HAVE TAKEN PLACE AT THIS SITE, UPON LAND DONATED BY THE BOB BONNER FAMILY, SINCE THE 1890s. DURING ITS EARLY YEARS THE GROUP MET IN A COMBINATION CHURCH SCHOOL/LODGE STRUCTURE. WOMEN AND MEN SAT ON OPPOSITE SIDES OF THE BUILDING, AND BAPTISM BY IMMERSION WAS PERFORMED IN A NEARBY POND. THE GROUP CHANGED ITS NAME TO RED LICK UNITED METHODIST CHURCH IN 1968. IT CONTINUES TO PLAY AN IMPORTANT ROLE IN THE COMMUNITY'S RELIGIOUS LIFE. (1992)
Locaed in Quail Hollow on the SE corner of White Oak and Red Oak
On land settled 1811 and later patented in Republic of Texas by M. H. Janes. Built 1866 by Charles M. Rochelle, husband of Janes' daughter, Elizabeth. Home of their son, state legislator Wm. C. Rochelle, and descendants. Unique fireplace mantel was hand-hewn by slaves. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1966.
JANES FAMILY CEMETERY
Located on FM 2148, just North of Red Lick Elementary School.
Located on Birdwell-Davis Road, North of Arnold Lane, just out of the city limits.